Mayor of Tadcaster

David Bowgett Town Mayor for 2022 - 2023

Town Mayor 2023 - 24 - Councillor David Bowgett

Each Year in May, the Town Mayor is elected by a vote at the Annual Meeting of the Town Council.

Tadcaster’s Mayor for 2023/24 is Councillor David Bowgett.

Councillor David Bowgett

You can view a list of former Mayors here.

If you wish to invite the Mayor to an event or function, please contact the Town Council offices, giving the following details: 

  • Date, time and expected duration of your function.
  • Whether you require the Mayor to perform a specific function (e.g. starting a race, cutting a ribbon etc.)
  • Background information if you require the Mayor to give a speech.
  • Parking arrangements. 


The Mayor and Civic Regalia

The Mayoral year runs from the middle of each May. By law, each year the Council elects one of its members to be the Chairman of the Council for the year: the Chairman automatically becomes the Mayor. A deputy chairman is also elected, who becomes the Deputy Mayor. They represent Tadcaster both within the town and elsewhere. Each is often accompanied by their consort. The Mayor, the Mayoress or Mayor’s consort, the Deputy Mayor, and the Deputy Mayoress or consort, are entitled to wear the civic regalia, or ‘chains of office’.

The Mayor’s chain of office includes the official badge of Tadcaster Town Council. It shows the bridge over the River Wharfe, the town's links with brewing and agriculture, the White Rose of Yorkshire and one of the three swans which symbolise Selby, seat of the District Council.